Technocrat's Perspective

-a technical blog

Few unknown keyboard shortcuts

Hi all,

In this blog i would like to share a few shortcut that could be helpful for an end user. I will be often in a need to explore the files in the hard disk. I do usually navigate to the folder from the ‘My Computer’ icon on the Desktop. Also to navigate for the files under ‘My Documents’ again it has to be referred from the corresponding shortcut icon. I normally start almost all the application with the run command. Be it a browser to be launched. I hit the shortcut keystrokes(Windows+R – run console) and then provide the run commands. Suppose if Internet Explorer has to be started with launching https://npselvan.wordpress.com, i do provide the run command as ‘iexplore https://npselvan.wordpress.com’. When i was trying something like the same last day, i hit the run command with just a dot(.) and it opened me ‘Documents and Settings’ of the user you logged in. When run command was hit with two dot(..) it will show you the list of the user accounts folder on the explorer. When it was hit with three dots(…) it will take you to the ‘My Computer’ on the explorer. I feel light to navigate to the folder from here. Probably many could know this. Hope this will be helpful to someone who is not aware of the shortcuts.

Comments are welcomed.

December 16, 2009 - Posted by | TechBitz

1 Comment »

  1. Good ! I started using it too.

    Comment by Thanks ! | February 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment